Skip to main

Berlin-Steglitz


Berlin-Steglitz
District

Berlin-Steglitz is located in the south-west of Berlin and, with its districts of Steglitz, Lichterfelde and Lankwitz, offers varied traditional middle-class idyll in connection with typical Berlin metropolitan flair. Quiet and green residential areas, a wide range of cultural and dining options and numerous shopping opportunities characterize the district. The Schlossstrasse, Berlin's second largest shopping street, is one of the busiest centers in the south of Berlin with its extensive shopping opportunities. Generous recreational and park facilities such as the Bäkepark or the Steglitzer Stadtpark inspire not only the scenic beauty, but also their opportunities for activity and relaxation. One of the most important sights of the district is the Botanical Garden, which, with an area of 43 hectares and over 20,000 plant species, is one of the largest botanical facilities in the world.

Bäkepark

Bäkepark

Bäkepark in Berlin-Steglitz is a park that is traversed by the former water-rich Bäke. That is why the green area with its lawns and old trees also bears this name. Some of the trees are extremely valuable because they have become rare. These include a white elm, two yew trees, a hornbeam, a sycamore maple and a plane tree. Children have fun in the multi-faceted adventure playground, which is why families like to go there on excursions. In addition, young and old come to the park during the annual Steglitz Festival. The immediate vicinity of the green area is also very attractive. Numerous sophisticated villas border the city park.

Bäkepark
12203 Berlin

Bierpinsel

Bierpinsel

The Bierpinsel building is the landmark of Berlin-Steglitz and is part of the Joachim-Tiburtius-Brücke, which covers the Schloßstraße shopping street. Already during the construction period between 1972 and 1976, the building was given the bizarre name because its frame resembles a shaving brush. In addition, it was already known that a restaurant would be moving into the building. For the opening ceremony in 1976, free beer flowed into the 47 m high structure. The design for the three-storey house comes from the architects Ralf Schüler and Ursulina Schüler-Witte. The currently vacant building in the striking pop style has been a listed building since 2017.

Schloßstraße 17
12163 Berlin

Botanical Garden

Botanical Garden

The Botanical Garden in Berlin-Steglitz was laid out between the years 1897 and 1910 according to designs by the architect Alfred Koerner. The garden director was Adolf Engler. With an area of 43 hectares, it is one of the largest botanical facilities in the world. 20,000 plant species thrive there. The green area includes 15 show greenhouses that are geometrically arranged. One of them is the Great Tropical House, which is 25 m high and around 1,700 m² in size. It was built in 1907. It is one of the most imposing tropical houses in the world and a prime example of the outstanding glass and steel architecture of the 19th century. Today the garden is one of the capital's most important sights.

Königin-Luise-Straße 6-8
14195 Berlin

Boulevard Berlin

Boulevard Berlin

One of the largest shopping centers in the capital is located on the Boulevard Berlin in Schlosssstasse in Berlin-Steglitz. It was built between 2009 and 2012 according to a design by the architects Ortner & Ortner. For this purpose, the former Wertheim department store has been gutted in order to create a new building with a natural stone facade. The opening of the 76,000 m² sales area took place in April 2012. There are around 140 shops and restaurants in the mall. They include major anchor businesses such as Esprit, Saturn, Hollister and Hallhuber. For easy accessibility, the mall has a multi-storey car park with 850 parking spaces. There is also direct access to the Schloßstraße underground station, where various bus lines and the 9 underground line stop.

Schloßstraße 10
12163 Berlin

Cineplex Titania

Cineplex Titania

The Cineplex Titania in Berlin-Steglitz is like a legend. The opening ceremony of the Filmpalast took place at the end of January 2028. The Titania Palace was known beyond its borders as a luxury cinema, the rooms of which not only the viewers but also big stars entered. Former film greats such as Carmen Boni, Hans Junkermann Otto Fee and Hans Brausewetter walked the red carpet. But not only that made the luxury cinema something special, but also its architecture. A building in the New Objectivity style has been built on a 2,700 m² property. It was unusually unadorned and bulky for the time, which the press celebrated. Today, in addition to various shops, the Titania Palace still houses a cinema. It is modern and has seven cinema halls of various sizes.

Gutsmuthsstraße 27/28
12163 Berlin

Das Schloss

Das Schloss

In March 2006, the “Das Schloss” shopping center opened in Berlin-Steglitz. Around 90 shops and restaurants are spread over a sales area of around 36,000 m². They include large and highly frequented chains such as Thalia, REWE, H&M and Media Markt. In order to provide an incentive to visit the mall in addition to the shops and restaurants, there are elaborate projections. Spectacular worlds of images such as the starry sky and sea waves shine on the ceiling and thus help to create an extraordinary shopping experience. The design for the reinforced concrete structure with sandstone facing comes from the architect Manfred Pechtold. After a construction period of around two years, the € 220 million building was finished.

Schloßstraße 34
12163 Berlin

Forum Steglitz

Forum Steglitz

The Forum Steglitz shopping center is on Schloßstraße in Berlin-Steglitz. It was one of the first centers of its kind in Germany to offer the then revolutionary shop-in-shop system. The opening was in April 1970. The construction time was two years and Georg Heinrichs was commissioned as the architect. Today, 60 shops and restaurants are spread over a sales area of 32,000 m². A special feature of the shopping center is that a weekly market has been held at its location since 1908. For the mall planning, the clients therefore stipulated that the traditional weekly market should be integrated into the center. This was done through a sales area on the ground floor, on which there were stalls and kiosks. As part of a renovation in 2005, the market disappeared.

Schloßstraße 1
12163 Berlin

Harry-Bresslau-Park

Harry-Bresslau-Park

Harry-Bresslau-Park, which was named after the German diplomat and historian Bresslau, is located on Lepsiusstrasse and Treitschkestrasse in Berlin-Steglitz. The park was officially nameless for years. In November 2008 it was given its current name. As part of the construction of the Boulevard Berlin, the green area was included in the overall concept of the shopping mall. Today the park is 1.8 hectares in size and has a large lawn and tall trees. In addition, paths, a climbing wall, a football field and a playground have been created. The redesign of the park is the result of a competition among architects, which Ortner + Ortner Baukunst won.

Harry-Bresslau-Park
12163 Berlin

Herman-Ehlers-Platz

Herman-Ehlers-Platz

The Herman-Ehlers-Platz is a colorful and multicultural place in Berlin-Steglitz at the Schloßstraße opposite the mall "Das Schloss". Numerous restaurants and cafes have settled on the square. There is also a wide variety of shops. There is a weekly market three days a week where vegetables, fruits and other foods are offered. On Sundays, the square is also a place to look for bargains. Flea market dealers set up their stalls there between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. The mirror wall can be seen on the eastern side of the square. The memorial plaque, which consists of mirrors, is intended to commemorate the murdered Jews during National Socialism.

Herman-Ehlers-Platz
12163 Berlin

Lilienthalpark

Lilienthalpark

In the southwest of the German capital in Berlin-Steglitz there is a beautiful green area with the Lilienthalpark. The area, which belongs to the Lichterfelde district, is especially famous for its fly mountain. It is almost 60 m high and was once piled up by Otto Lilienthal's workers. The aviation pioneer from the 19th century had the plan to conduct flight tests there. Today nobody gets into the air there, but a short ascent to the summit is recommended to marvel at the colorful sunsets. Some athletes also use the stairs on the mountain to train their bodies. In spring, the park is particularly attractive, because then cherry trees shine in a delicate rosé.

Schütte-Lanz-Straße
12209 Berlin

Schlosspark Theater

Schlosspark Theater

The Schlosspark Theater is housed in the Villa Wrangelschlösschen in Berlin-Steglitz. In 1921, actors appeared in it for the first time to amuse their audience. After the war, the theater gained new fame thanks to Hildegard Knef. The legendary actress made her theatrical debut there. On stage, Samuel Beckett also made theater history by staging his most successful play: Waiting for Godot. In the 1990s, the premises were closed for renovation work. The theater changed its directorship and its organizer several times. Dieter Hallervorden has operated the house as a private theater since 2008.

Schloßstraße 48
12165 Berlin

Schlossstrasse

Schlossstrasse

Schloßstrasse is the most important shopping street in the southwest of the capital in Berlin-Steglitz. It has around 200,000 m² of retail space and has several shopping centers, retail stores and service providers. Cultural institutions have also settled here in the meantime. The variety on offer is immense and ranges from watchmakers to the technology market. Although the four malls seem to dominate the street, their real landmark is the beer brush, which attracts a lot of attention with its polygonal shape and location. Another landmark is the old Steglitz town hall, which today houses parts of the district administration and a citizens' office.

Schloßstraße
12163 Berlin

Stadtpark Steglitz

Stadtpark Steglitz

The Stadtpark Steglitz in Berlin-Steglitz of the same name is an approximately 17 hectare green and recreational area that is freely accessible. The basis for the park was created at the beginning of the 20th century. Since then the appearance has changed several times. For the 100th anniversary in 2014, a renovation began, which was carried out gradually. Thanks to her, the city park again has its rose garden and its elm avenue, which were created according to the historical model. Work on the ponds also took place. In addition to the scenic beauty, the park landscape inspires with its activities. There are two large playgrounds and a small play area for children. It is also possible to play mini golf or have something hearty to eat.

Stadtpark Steglitz
12167 Berlin

Skip to main

Berlin-Steglitz


Berlin-Steglitz
Bezirk

Berlin-Steglitz liegt im Südwesten Berlins und bietet mit seinen Ortsteilen Steglitz, Lichterfelde und Lankwitz abwechslungsreiche traditionelle bürgerliche Idylle in Verbindung mit typischem Berliner Großstadtflair. Ruhige und grüne Wohnquartiere, breit gefächerte Kultur- und Gastronomieangebote sowie zahlreiche Shoppingmöglichkeiten prägen den Bezirk. Die Schloßstraße, Berlins zweitgrößte Einkaufsstraße, ist mit ihren umfangreichen Shoppingmöglichkeiten einer der am stärksten frequentierten Zentren des Berliner Südens. Großzügige Erholungs- und Parkanlagen wie der Bäkepark oder der Steglitzer Stadtpark begeistern neben der landschaftlichen Schönheit durch ihre Aktivitäts- und Erholungsmöglichkeiten. Zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bezirks gehört der Botanische Garten, der mit einer Fläche von 43 ha und über 20.000 Pflanzenarten zu den größten botanischen Anlagen der Welt gehört.

Bäkepark

Bäkepark

Bäkepark in Berlin-Steglitz ist ein Park, der von dem einstigen wasserreichen Bäke durchflossen wird. Deswegen trägt die Grünanlage mit ihren Liegewiesen und dem alten Baumbestand auch diesen Namen. Einige der Bäume sind überaus wertvoll, da sie selten geworden sind. Dazu zählen eine Flatterulme, zwei Eiben, eine Hainbuche, ein Bergahorn und eine Platane. Kinder vergnügen sich auf dem vielseitig gestalteten Abenteuerspielplatz, weswegen Familien dorthin gern Ausflüge machen. Darüber hinaus kommen während der alljährlich stattfindenden Steglitzer Festwochen Groß und Klein zur Parkanlage. Die unmittelbare Umgebung der Grünanlage ist ebenfalls sehr reizvoll. An den Stadtpark grenzen zahlreiche mondäne Villen.

Bäkepark
12203 Berlin

Bierpinsel

Bierpinsel

Das Gebäude Bierpinsel ist das Wahrzeichen von Berlin-Steglitz und ist Teil der Joachim-Tiburtius-Brücke, welche die Einkaufsstraße Schloßstraße überzieht. Schon während der Bauzeit zwischen 1972 und 1976 erhielt das Bauwerk den skurrilen Namen, da sein Gerüst einem Rasierpinsel ähnelt. Darüber hinaus war bereits bekannt, dass in das Gebäude ein Gastronomiebetrieb einzieht. Zur Eröffnungsfeier im Jahr 1976 ist im insgesamt 47 m hohem Bauwerk Freibier geflossen. Der Entwurf für das Drei-Etagen-Haus stammt von den Architekten Ralf Schüler und Ursulina Schüler-Witte. Seit 2017 steht der aktuell leerstehende Bau im markanten Pop-Stil unter Denkmalschutz.

Schloßstraße 17
12163 Berlin

Botanischer Garten

Botanischer Garten

Der Botanische Garten in Berlin-Steglitz ist zwischen den Jahren 1897 und 1910 nach Entwürfen des Architekten Alfred Koerner angelegt worden. Der Gartendirektor war Adolf Engler. Mit einer Fläche von 43 ha ist er einer der größten botanischen Anlagen der Welt. 20.000 Pflanzenarten gedeihen dort. Zur Grünanlage gehören 15 Schaugewächshäuser, die sich geometrisch anordnen. Zu ihnen gehört das Große Tropenhaus, welches 25 m hoch und circa 1.700 m² groß ist. Es ist bereits im Jahr 1907 erbaut worden. Es ist eines der imposantesten Tropenhäuser auf der Welt und ein Paradebeispiel für die herausragende Glas-Stahl-Architektur des 19. Jahrhunderts. Heute zählt der Garten zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Hauptstadt.

Königin-Luise-Straße 6-8
14195 Berlin

Boulevard Berlin

Boulevard Berlin

Eines der größten Shoppingcenter der Hauptstadt befindet sich mit dem Boulevard Berlin in der Schloßstaße inBerlin-Steglitz. Es ist nach dem Entwurf der Architekten Ortner & Ortner zwischen 2009 und 2012 erbaut worden. Dafür ist das einstige Wertheim-Kaufhaus entkernt worden, um daraus ein neues Gebäude mit Natursteinfassade zu erschaffen. Die Eröffnung der 76.000 m² großen Verkaufsfläche fand im April 2012 statt. In der Mall befinden sich rund 140 Geschäfte und gastronomische Betriebe. Zu ihnen gehören bedeutende Ankergeschäfte wie Esprit, Saturn, Hollister und Hallhuber. Für eine komfortable Erreichbarkeit verfügt die Mall über ein Parkhaus mit 850 Parkplätzen. Darüber hinaus gibt es einen direkten Zugang zur U-Bahn-Station Schloßstraße, an der verschiedene Buslinien und die U-Bahn-Linie 9 halten. 

Schloßstraße 10
12163 Berlin

Cineplex Titania

Cineplex Titania

Der Cineplex Titania in Berlin-Steglitz gleicht einer Legende. Die Eröffnungsfeier des Filmpalastes fand Ende Januar 2028 statt. Über die Grenzen hinaus war der Titania-Palast als Luxuskino bekannt, dessen Räume neben den Zuschauern auch große Stars betraten. Über den roten Teppich schritten einstigen Filmgrößen wie Carmen Boni, Hans Junkermann Otto Gebühr und Hans Brausewetter. Doch nicht nur das machte das Luxuskino zu etwas Besonderem, sondern ebenfalls seiner Architektur. Auf einem 2.700 m² großem Grundstück ist ein Bau im Stil der Neuen Sachlichkeit entstanden. Er war für die damalige Zeit ungewöhnlich schmucklos und klotzig, was die Presse feierte. Heute ist im Titania-Palast neben unterschiedlichen Geschäften immer noch ein Kino untergebracht. Es ist modern und verfügt über sieben Kinosäle verschiedener Größe.

Gutsmuthsstraße 27/28
12163 Berlin

Das Schloss

Das Schloss

Im März 2006 ist das Shoppingcenter „Das Schloss“ in Berlin-Steglitz eröffnet worden. Auf einer Verkaufsfläche von rund 36.000 m² verteilen sich etwa 90 Geschäfte und Restaurants. Zu ihnen gehören große und stark frequentierte Ketten wie Thalia, REWE, H&M und Media Markt. Um neben den Geschäften und Gastronomiebetrieben für einen Anreiz für einen Besuch der Mall zu sorgen, gibt es aufwendige Projektionen. Spektakuläre Bilderwelten wie Sternenhimmel und Meereswellen erstrahlen an der Decke und verhelfen so zu einem außergewöhnlichen Shoppingerlebnis. Der Entwurf für den Bau aus Stahlbeton mit Sandsteinverblendung stammt von dem Architekten Manfred Pechtold. Nach einer Bauzeit von rund zwei Jahren war der 220 Millionen € teure Bau fertig. 

Schloßstraße 34
12163 Berlin

Forum Steglitz

Forum Steglitz

In Berlin-Steglitz in der Schloßstraße steht das Einkaufszentrum Forum Steglitz. Es ist eines der ersten Zentren seiner Art in Deutschland gewesen, welches das damals revolutionäre Shop-in-Shop-System anbot. Die Eröffnung war im April 1970. Die Bauzeit belief sich auf zwei Jahre und als Architekt war Georg Heinrichs beauftragt worden. Auf einer Verkaufsfläche von 32.000 m² verteilen sich heute 60 Geschäfte und Gastronomiebetriebe. Eine Besonderheit des Shoppingcenters ist, dass an seinem Standort bereits seit 1908 ein Wochenmarkt stattgefunden hat. Die Bauherren gaben daher für die Mallplanung die Vorgabe, dass der traditionsreiche Wochenmarkt in das Center integriert werden sollte. Dies ist durch eine Verkaufsfläche im Erdgeschoss geschehen, auf der sich Verkaufsstände und Kioske befanden. Im Rahmen eines Umbaus im Jahr 2005 ist der Markt verschwunden.

Schloßstraße 1
12163 Berlin

Harry-Bresslau-Park

Harry-Bresslau-Park

Bei der Lepsius- und der Treitschkestraße in Berlin-Steglitz befindet sich der Harry-Bresslau-Park, der nach dem deutschen Diplomatiker und Historiker Bresslau benannt worden ist. Die Parkanlage war über Jahre hinweg offiziell namenlos. Im November 2008 erhielt sie heutigen Namen. Im Rahmen des Baus des Boulevard Berlin ist die Grünanlage in das Gesamtkonzept der Shoppingmall einbezogen worden. Heute verfügt der Park mit seiner Größe von 1,8 ha über eine große Rasenfläche und hohe Bäume. Darüber hinaus sind Wege, eine Kletterwand, ein Bolzplatz und ein Spielplatz angelegt worden. Die Neugestaltung des Parks ist das Resultat eines Wettbewerbs unter Architekten, den Ortner + Ortner Baukunst für sich entschieden. 

Harry-Bresslau-Park
12163 Berlin

Herman-Ehlers-Platz

Herman-Ehlers-Platz

Der Herman-Ehlers-Platz ist ein farbenfroher und multikultureller Platz in Berlin-Steglitz bei der Schloßstraße gegenüber der Mall „Das Schloss“. An dem Platz haben sich zahlreiche Restaurants und Cafés angesiedelt. Auch eine breite Vielfalt an Geschäften ist vorhanden. An drei Tagen der Woche findet ein Wochenmarkt statt, auf dem Gemüse, Früchte und andere Lebensmittel angeboten werden. Sonntags ist der Platz zudem ein Ort, um nach Schnäppchen zu suchen. Zwischen 9 Uhr und 16 Uhr bauen dann dort Flohmarkthändler ihre Stände auf. An der östlichen Seite des Platzes ist die Spiegelwand zu entdecken. Die Gedenktafel, die aus Spiegeln besteht, soll an die ermordeten Juden während des Nationalsozialismus erinnern.

Herman-Ehlers-Platz
12163 Berlin

Lilienthalpark

Lilienthalpark

Im Südwesten der deutschen Hauptstadt in Berlin-Steglitz gibt es mit dem Lilienthalpark eine schöne Grünanlage. Das Gelände, welches zum Stadtteil Lichterfelde gehört, ist vor allem für seinen Fliegeberg berühmt. Er ist fast 60 m hoch und wurde einst von Arbeitern von Otto Lilienthal aufgeschüttet. Der Luftfahrtpionier aus dem 19. Jahrhundert hatte den Plan, dort Flugversuche zu absolvieren. Heute geht dort niemand mehr in die Luft, aber dafür ist ein kurzer Aufstieg zum Gipfel empfehlenswert, um farbenfrohe Sonnenuntergänge zu bestaunen. Einige Sportler nutzen zudem die Treppen am Berg, um den Körper zu trainieren. Im Frühling ist die Parkanlage besonders reizvoll, denn dann erstrahlen dort Kirschbäume in einem zarten Rosé.

Schütte-Lanz-Straße
12209 Berlin

Schlosspark Theater

Schlosspark Theater

In Berlin-Steglitz in der Villa Wrangelschlösschen ist das Schlosspark Theater untergebracht. 1921 traten in ihm zum ersten Mal Schauspieler auf, um ihr Publikum zu belustigen. Nach dem Krieg erlangte das Theater aufgrund von Hildegard Knef neue Berühmtheit. Die legendäre Schauspielerin feierte dort ihr Theaterdebüt. Auf der Bühne schrieb ebenfalls Samuel Beckett Theatergeschichte, indem er sein erfolgreichstes Stück inszenierte: Warten auf Godot. In den 1990er-Jahren kam es zur Schließung der Räumlichkeiten wegen Renovierungsarbeiten. Mehrfach wechselte die Theaterstätte seine Intendanz und seinen Veranstalter. Seit 2008 wird das Haus von Dieter Hallervorden als Privattheater betrieben. 

Schloßstraße 48
12165 Berlin

Schloßstraße

Schloßstraße

Die Schloßstraße stellt die bedeutendste Einkaufsstraße im Südwesten der Hauptstadt in Berlin-Steglitz dar. Sie weist rund 200.000 m² Verkaufsfläche auf und verfügt über mehrere Shoppingcenter, Einzelhandelsgeschäfte und Dienstleistungsbetriebe. Auch kulturelle Einrichtungen haben sich inzwischen angesiedelt. Die Angebotsvielfalt ist immens und reicht vom Uhrmacher bis hin zum Technikmarkt. Obgleich die vier Malls die Straße zu dominieren scheinen, ist ihr eigentliches Wahrzeichen der Bierpinsel, der mit seiner mehreckigen Form und Lage viel Aufmerksamkeit erregt. Ein weiteres Wahrzeichen gibt es mit dem alten Rathaus Steglitz, in dem sich heute Teile der Teile der Bezirksverwaltung sowie ein Bürgeramt befinden.

Schloßstraße
12163 Berlin

Stadtpark Steglitz

Stadtpark Steglitz

Der Stadtpark Steglitz im gleichnamigen Berlin-Steglitz ist eine circa 17 ha große Grün- und Erholungsanlage, die frei zugänglich ist. Die Basis für den Park entstand bereits zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. Seitdem hat sich das Erscheinungsbild mehrfach geändert. Zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum im Jahr 2014 begann eine Sanierung, die schrittweise durchgeführt wurde. Dank ihr hat der Stadtpark wieder seinen Rosengarten und seine Ulmenallee, die nach dem historischen Vorbild erschaffen wurden. Arbeiten an den Teichen fanden ebenfalls statt. Neben der landschaftlichen Schönheit begeistert die Parklandschaft durch ihre Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten. Es gibt zwei große Spielplätze und einen kleinen Spielbereich für Kinder. Darüber hinaus ist es möglich, Minigolf zu spielen oder etwas Herzhaftes zu essen.

Stadtpark Steglitz
12167 Berlin